Speaker Bios

Alexandra Chouldechova

Jeffrey Dean

Jeff Dean (research.google.com/people/jeff) joined Google in 1999 and is currently a Google Senior Fellow and SVP, Research and Health. He and his collaborators are working on machine learning and AI techniques for speech recognition, computer vision, language understanding, robotics, healthcare and various other tasks. He is a co-designer and co-implementor of many important software systems, including MapReduce, BigTable Spanner systems, and the open-source TensorFlow (tensorflow.org) system for machine learning.

Jeff received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Washington in 1996 and a B.S. in computer science & economics from the University of Minnesota in 1990. He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences (AAAS), and a winner of the ACM Prize in Computing and the Mark Weiser Award.

David Donoho

Shirley Ho

Michael I. Jordan

Sham Kakade

Daphne Koller

Kristian Lum

Aleksander Madry

Xiao-Li Meng

Xiao-Li Meng, the Whipple V. N. Jones Professor of Statistics, and the Founding Editor-in-Chief of Harvard Data Science Review, is well known for his depth and breadth in research, his innovation and passion in pedagogy, his vision and effectiveness in administration, as well as for his engaging and entertaining style as a speaker and writer. Meng was named the best statistician under the age of 40 by COPSS (Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies) in 2001, and he is the recipient of numerous awards and honors for his more than 150 publications in at least a dozen theoretical and methodological areas, as well as in areas of pedagogy and professional development. He has delivered more than 400 research presentations and public speeches on these topics, and he is the author of “The XL-Files," a thought-provoking and entertaining column in the IMS (Institute of Mathematical Statistics) Bulletin. His interests range from the theoretical foundations of statistical inferences (e.g., the interplay among Bayesian, Fiducial, and frequentist perspectives; frameworks for multi-source, multi-phase and multi- resolution inferences) to statistical methods and computation (e.g., posterior predictive p-value; EM algorithm; Markov chain Monte Carlo; bridge and path sampling) to applications in natural, social, and medical sciences and engineering (e.g., complex statistical modeling in astronomy and astrophysics, assessing disparity in mental health services, and quantifying statistical information in genetic studies). Meng received his BS in mathematics from Fudan University in 1982 and his PhD in statistics from Harvard in 1990. He was on the faculty of the University of Chicago from 1991 to 2001 before returning to Harvard, where he served as the Chair of the Department of Statistics (2004-2012) and the Dean of Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (2012-2017).

Richard J. Samworth

Professor Richard Samworth obtained his PhD in Statistics from the University of Cambridge in 2004, and has remained in Cambridge since, becoming a professor in 2013 and the Professor of Statistical Science in 2017. Richard is currently Director of the Statistical Laboratory in Cambridge and holds an Engineering and Physical Sciences fellowship. His main research interests are in high-dimensional and nonparametric statistics, including problems in data perturbation, changepoint estimation, shape-constrained inference and classification, amongst others. Richard currently serves as co-editor of the Annals of Statistics. He has received several honours and awards for his work, including most recently the COPSS Presidents' Award (2018), an Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS) Medallion lecture (2018) and the Adams prize (2017). He was elected a fellow of the American Statistical Association in 2015, a fellow of the IMS in 2014, and was awarded a Philip Leverhulme Prize in 2014 and the Royal Statistical Society Guy Medal in Bronze for 2012.

Adrian Smith

Manuela Veloso

Bin Yu

Steering Committee

Event Co-Chairs

  • Jeannette Wing, Columbia University, USA
  • David Madigan, Columbia University, USA

Steering Committee

  • Magdalena Balazinska, University of Washington, USA
  • Joseph Gonzalez, University of California Berkeley, USA
  • Chris Holmes, University of Oxford, UK
  • Yannis Ioannidis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
  • Ryan Tibshirani, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Daniela Witten, University of Washington, USA