SIG Governing Board

The SIG Governing Board (SGB), a volunteer body, has overall responsibility for the Association's 36 Special Interest Groups (SIGs).

The SGB Exective Committee (SGB-EC) is elected by the SGB members and has a monthly conference call.



  • SGB Executive Committee

    SIG Governing Board Chair
      Jeff  N Jortner  
    SGB EC Vice Chair for Operations
      Claire Lauer  
    SIG Development Advisor
      Simon Harper  
    SGB Conference Advisor
      John  A Hamilton  
    New SIG Advisor
      Laurie  J Fox  
    SIG Viability Advisor
      Will Tracz  
    SIG Awards Advisor
      Jeff Hollingsworth  
    Publications Advisor
      Nenad Medvidovic  
    SIG Board Past Chair
      Jeanna  Neefe Matthews  
    SGB Council Representative
      Sarita Adve  
      Jeanna  Neefe  Matthews  
      Renée  McCauley  
  • SIG Governing Board

      Shari Trewin  
    SIGACT Chair
      Samir Khuller  
    SIGAda Chair
      John  A Hamilton  
    SIGAI Chair
      Sven Koenig  
    SIGAPP Chair
      Jiman Hong  
    SIGARCH Chair
      Sarita Adve  
    SIGBED Chair
      Insup Lee  
    SIGBio Chair
      Srinivas Aluru  
    SIGCAS Chair
      Karla Carter  
    SIGCHI President
      Helena Mentis  
    SIGCOMM Chair
      Roch Guerin  
    SIGCSE Chair
      Amber Settle  
    SIGDA Chair
      Xiaobo Hu  
    SIGDOC Chair
      Emma  J Rose  
    SIGecom Chair
      Kevin Leyton-Brown  
    SIGEVO Chair
      Marc Schoenauer  
    SIGGRAPH President
      Jessica  K Hodgins  
    SIGHPC Chair
      Jeff Hollingsworth  
    SIGIR Chair
      Diane Kelly  
    SIGITE Chair
      Barry  Mark Lunt  
    SIGKDD Chair
      Jian Pei  
    SIGLOG Chair
      Prakash Panangaden  
      Vishal Misra  
    SIGMICRO Chair
      Michael Gschwind  
    SIGMIS Chair
      Fred Niederman  
    SIGMM Chair
      Alan  F Smeaton  
      Marco  Oliver Gruteser  
    SIGMOD Chair
      Juliana Freire  
    SIGOPS Chair
      Robbert Van Renesse  
    SIGPLAN Chair
      Jens Palsberg  
    SIGSAC Chair
      Ninghui Li  
    SIGSAM Chair
      Christopher  W Brown  
    SIGSIM Chair
      Margaret Loper  
    SIGSOFT Chair
      Thomas Zimmermann  
      Cyrus Shahabi  
    SIGUCCS Chair
      Laurie  J Fox  
    SIGWEB Chair
      Dick Bulterman  

SIG Awards

ACM's Special Interest Groups (SIGs) regularly cite outstanding individuals for their contributions in more than 30 distinct technological fields.


SIG Conferences - Driving Innovation in Computing Technology

ACM SIGs sponsor more than 170 conferences, workshops and symposia worldwide, with attendance ranging from 20 to tens of thousands. These events enable individual technical communities to share expertise and facilitate the face‐to‐face interactions critical to the dissemination of novel and competing ideas. Many of these forums have become premier global events, bringing together the innovators and researchers who push computing technology forward.

Join an ACM SIG

Network with like-minded professionals and enjoy unique opportunities to share technical expertise and first-hand knowledge of the latest trends.

Join an ACM SIG